United Rugby Championship: An excellent victory for Munster over the Ospreys

At Thomond Park, Gavin Coombes scored a hat-trick of tries as Munster thrashed Ospreys 58-3.

Malakai Fekitoa, Gavin Coombes, Antoine Frisch, and Joey Carberry all scored tries to give the home team a 27-3 advantage and the bonus point at halftime.

Following the restart, Shane Daly, Paddy Patterson, and Simon Zebo all made touchdowns, while Coombes finished his hat-trick to further compound the woes of the Ospreys.

Stephen Myler’s kick in the first half was responsible for all of Ospreys’ points.

By winning the URC for the fourth time in a row, Munster moves up to fourth place.

Ospreys had no response to Munster’s physicality and pace in the decisive first half as the host team put the game out of reach with both teams lacking players due to the Six Nations.

Despite Munster fullback Daly receiving a yellow card right away, the game’s momentum changed after 15 minutes when the Ospreys gave up a well-taken try to Coombes. Then, after a video review, Ospreys lock Bradley Davies received a yellow card for a high tackle on Roman Salanoa that was seen during the buildup.

No room for negotiation about contract budgets
Players’ union blasts Wales rugby officials
On two occasions, the Munster midfield played effectively together, with Frisch linking with Fekitoa in the center to complete a well-executed move. A few minutes later, Fekitoa paid it forward by helping Frisch with a deft loop ball that put the other midfielder in a position to dot down over the goal.

Just before halftime, out-half Carberry gave his team the bonus point with a fast break that secured the extra point for his team.

rear row Three landings were made by Gavin Coombes at Thomond Park.
rear row Three landings were made by Gavin Coombes at Thomond Park.
With the bonus point already secured, Munster maintained their lead after the interval. Scrum-half Patterson scored nearly right away after the game resumed, and shortly after that, Coombes scored his second try after applying consistent pressure to the Ospreys’ line.

After more feeble Ospreys defense, the hosts’ Simon Zebo scored another try.

A terrible evening for the visitors was made worse by late touchdowns from fullback Daly and match-winner Coombes after the game had already been declared finished as a contest.

Joey Carbery, Paddy Patterson; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, Roman Salanoa; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (captain), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes; Munster: Shane Daly; Liam Coombes, Antoine Frisch, Malakai Fekitoa, Simon Zebo;

Substitutes include Jack O’Sullivan, Alex Kendellen, Ethan Coughlan, Ben Healy, and Rory Scannell. Mark Donnelly, Stephen Archer, and Diarmuid Barron are also available.

Ospreys: Max Nagy, Elvis Taione, Tom Botha, Bradley Davies, Huw Sutton, Jack Regan, Ethan Roots, Morgan Morris, Michael Collins, Owen Watkin, and Keelan Giles; Stephen Myler, Reuben Morgan-Williams; and Nicky Smith (captain).

Replacements: Iestyn Hopkins, Tom Cowan-Dickie, Garyn Phillips, Rhys Henry, James Fender, Harri Deaves, and Matthew Aubrey

arbitrator Craig Evans (WRU)

Ru Campbell and Jonny Perriam are the assistant referees (SRU)

Jon Mason, TMO (WRU)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *